What’s On in Rotorua

2022-08-05T07:00:00.0000000Z

2022-08-05T07:00:00.0000000Z

NZME

https://stratfordpress.communitynews.co.nz/article/281925956775908

ACTIVITIES

■ Until Sunday, August 7: A View from the Stars: Re-purposed Maps Exhibition. Rotorua Library. Open during library hours (Mon-fri 9am to 4pm, Sat and Sun 10am to 4pm). Free. ■ Until August 24: Family History Month activities. Range of activities and workshops at Rotorua Library. For details go to library website. Free. ■ Until October 23: Anne Frank — Let me be myself exhibition. Rotorua Library. Library hours. Free. ■ Until Tuesday, November 1: A Tribute to Jean Batten by Jon Marett. Rotorua Lakes Council, Galleria. 8am to 5pm, weekdays. Free. ■ Saturday, August 6: Rock and Roll Dance Party. 7pm. Level 13 Theme Rooms and Bar. 18+. $20, at door or www.eventfinda.co.nz. ■ Saturday, August 6: Kuirau Park Saturday Market. 8am to 1pm. Kuirau Park. Free entry. ■ Sunday, August 7: Caitlin Smith at Rotorua Jazz Club. 4.30pm to 8pm. Rotorua Citizens Club. $10 Jazz club members, $20 casual. ■ Thursday, August 11: Hamurana Playcentre Preschool Disco. 4pm to 5.30pm. Ngongotaha Community Centre, School Rd. Ages 0-6 (siblings of all ages welcome). $2 entry per child. Under 1s and accompanying adults free. ■ Friday, August 12: Jeripoca Trio. 8pm to 10pm. Level 13 Theme Rooms and Bar. 18+. $20, events.humanitix. com. ■ Sunday, August 14: Steam Day. 10am to 4pm. Te Amorangi Trust Museum, Robinson Ave. Free entry for children under 16. ■ Wednesday, August 17-Saturday, August 27: Rotorua Little Theatre presents Spider’s Web. Shambles Theatre. Tickets and show dates/ times at www.eventfinda.co.nz. ■ Saturday, August 20: Harcourts Dancing for Hospice. Energy Events Centre. Tickets go on sale July 14. ■ Saturday, August 20: Dog Logic — Dog Talk. A talk about your dog's behaviour. 10am to 11.30am. Lynmore Scout Hall, Lewis Rd. Book tickets at www.eventfinda.co.nz. ■ Saturday, August 20: Friends of the Rotorua Library Book Sale. 9am to 1pm. 2 Kuirau St. Free entry. ■ Sunday, August 21: Rotorua Ukebox: Ukulele Open Mic and Strum Along. 3pm to 4.30pm. Te Rūnanga Tea House. Gold coin koha. Register at www.eventfinda.co.nz ■ Monday, August 22: The Big Sing 2022 Cadenza Gala Concert. 7pm to 9pm. Energy Events Centre. Tickets $5-$20, available at Ticketmaster from July 25. ■ Wednesday, August 24-Thursday, August 25: Junior Tough Guy and Gal Challenge. Lakes Ranch, Rotokawau Rd. 8.30am to 12.30pm. Enter at eventpromotions.co.nz ■ Saturday, August 27: Tough Guy and Gal Challenge. Lakes Ranch, Rotokawau Rd. 10am to 2pm. Enter at eventpromotions.co.nz ■ Saturday, August 27: Glow Lab Tough Gal Team Challenge. Lakes Ranch, Rotokawau Rd. 12pm to 2pm. Enter at eventpromotions.co.nz ■ Saturday, September 3-Saturday, September 24: He Kākano exhibition — The Beginnings of our new Whare Taonga. An opportunity to share your ideas for the future of the Rotorua Museum. The Arts Village. Arts Village opening hours: TuesdayFriday 9am to 3.30pm, and Saturday: 10am to 2pm. Free. ■ Saturday, September 3: Let's Connect — Ubuntu African Society BOP. 12pm to 4pm. Linton Park Community Centre. Free. There will be African entertainment and free African food provided. ■ Sunday, September 4: Dixon Nacey at Rotorua Jazz Club. 5pm to 8pm. Rotorua Citizens Club. $10 Jazz club members, $20 casual. ■ Saturday, September 17: 2022 Rotorua Marathon. Government Gardens, Queens Drive. 8am to 5pm. Includes Full Marathon, Red Stag Timber off-road Half Marathon(21km), and Go Media 10km and 5.5km fun run. Enter at rotoruamarathon.co.nz ■ Friday, September 30-Sunday, October 2: 2022 Pickleball Rotorua Doubles Tournament. 28 Tarewa Place. Free entry to spectate.

en-nz